NRLW 2021: Parramatta goes all the way to the top with its five marquee signings

Get excited, Eels followers.

Parramatta has introduced five marquee gamers who will spearhead the membership’s inaugural NRLW marketing campaign — they usually’re certain to shake up the elite competitors.

The Eels revealed on Wednesday night time that NSW Blues stars Simaima Taufa, Tiana Penitani, Botille Vette-Welsh, Filomina Hanisi, and Kennedy Cherrington have verbally agreed to don blue and gold in 2021.

Watch The 2021 NRL Telstra Premiership Live & On-Demand on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

“We are delighted to announce experienced and representative players as our initial marquee signings and there will be more to follow in the coming weeks,” Eels CEO Jim Sarantinos said.

“They are the basis upon which our girls’s workforce might be constructed on, and a optimistic affect on each the squad and aspiring feminine gamers inside the Parramatta area.”

Taufa, Vette-Welsh, Hanisi and Cherrington played for the Roosters last year, while Penitani has been key for the Dragons since 2019.

Taufa’s leadership and experience will be key for Parramatta — the lock forward has represented Australia and NSW, captained the Roosters NRLW side and was awarded Dally M Female Player of the Year in 2017.

Centre Penitani and fullback Vette-Welsh have both excelled on the international stage, while Hanisi and Cherrington are two of the most exciting youngsters in the game. The Eels will finalise it’s 22-player squad over the coming weeks.

It is understood that pre-season will begin on July 12 and the NRLW competition will kick off in August.

The Sydney Roosters, St George Illawarra and Newcastle are expected to announce their own marquee signings and squads over the next fortnight.

But there are whispers that Australian Jillaroos, NSW Blues and Dragons NRLW superstar Jessica Sergis could run out for the Chooks this year.

Jessica Sergis for Aje
Camera IconNRLW player Jessica Sergis could be playing for the tricolours in 2021. Justin Lloyd Credit: News Corp Australia

Reigning NRLW premiers the Brisbane Broncos confirmed their marquee picks earlier this week, with Ali Brigginshaw, Millie Boyle, Tamika Upton, Tarryn Aiken and Amber Hall remaining at the club for the 2021 season.

The Gold Coast Titans also announced their top five in Tazmin Gray, Karina Brown, Georgia Hale, Brittany Breayley-Nati and Crystal Tamarua.

Both Queensland golf equipment will reveal remaining squad members over the coming weeks.

Latest Travel News